Now Commenting On:

Umpire says he missed call at second

Umpire says he missed call at second

LOS ANGELES -- Second-base umpire Mark Wegner admitted he missed a call that would have resulted in a double play in the Dodgers' favor Saturday afternoon in a 9-0 loss to the Giants. San Francisco baserunner Eugenio Velez was ruled safe at second base because Wegner believed Dodgers second baseman Blake DeWitt did not touch the bag.

"He should've been called out," Wegner said.

The Giants had already built a 7-0 lead entering the top of the fifth inning at Dodger Stadium. With runners on first and second for the Giants and none out, Edgar Renteria hit a fly that popped out of the glove of a sliding Garret Anderson down the left-field line.

Tim Lincecum, the winning pitcher, was the lead runner on second base but did not attempt to advance to third base on the fair ball, instead staying at second. Anderson threw to Ronnie Belliard at third base for the forceout of Lincecum.

At second base is where the confusion began. Belliard threw to DeWitt before Velez reached second from first base, which should have been a forceout.

When the ball arrived, DeWitt touched second base and then threw to first base. The throw was inconsequential -- what mattered is that Wegner did not see DeWitt touch second base before he threw the ball, and Velez was not ruled out.

"There was confusion out there with the runners and where they're at," Wegner said. "[Belliard] threw it to second base, and DeWitt was standing off the base when he caught it. But when he went to throw the ball he did go back and touch it with his foot."

Wegner said he saw the mistake once he returned to the umpires' dressing room. Both managers Joe Torre and Bruce Bochy discussed the play on-field with the umpiring crew.

"The umpire told me Blake didn't touch second base," said Torre. "I just told him to go and look at it for himself afterward."

The play did not have a great impact on the game. Lincecum dominated the Dodgers for six innings and the Giants did not score in the fifth inning. The next batter, Pablo Sandoval, flied out and Aubrey Huff grounded out to end the inning.

"We want to get them right no matter what, but [I've] got to be honest about it," Wegner said.

Evan Drellich is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español