He got back to the base before first baseman Yasmani Grandal got the ball and tagged him -- or did he?
After Ramirez was visited by the Dodgers' training staff -- he stayed in the game -- Padres manager Bud Black came out to contest that Ramirez was off the base when Grandal tagged him, using his manager's challenge.
The replay officials overturned the call and ruled Ramirez out with the Padres holding a 2-1 lead.
Corey Brock is a reporter for MLB.com. Keep track of @FollowThePadres on Twitter. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.