Dodgers manager Don Mattingly asked for a crew-chief review to determine whether Arizona catcher Miguel Montero violated Rule 7.13 by illegally blocking the plate. Mattingly said once the play was under review, the umpires were obligated to also review whether the actual call was correct. Dodgers bench coach Tim Wallach had immediately noticed that Montero had the ball in his bare hand while tagging Crawford with an empty glove.
"There was no doubt once you see the replay; he tagged him with an empty glove," said Mattingly.
The review determined that Montero did not make an illegal block of home, but it also revealed that Wallach's assessment was correct. So, the call was overturned, Crawford was ruled safe, Montero received an error and Mattingly didn't even have to risk his manager's challenge.
"What you see on the scoreboard is not as clear as what [officials at the Replay Command Center] look at," D-backs manager Kirk Gibson said. "They had it reviewed under 7.13, which everybody is going to do. They reviewed the whole play under that provision, and [crew chief Gerry Davis] told me that he was not blocking the plate, but they determined that the ball was not in his glove."
Asked whether he felt it was fair for a manager to request a crew-chief review for blocking the plate, essentially to get a free manager's challenge, Gibson said: "They make the rules; we follow them. I'm not going to sit here and dispute what the rules mean. It's the same for everybody. [Mattingly] did it correctly. He appealed under 7.13. I would've done the same thing. Every manager's going to do it that way. There's no problem."
The next batter was pitcher Roberto Hernandez, whose attempted sacrifice bunt got past pitcher Trevor Cahill. Cahill retreated to get the ball and threw to first, where Davis ruled Hernandez out. That call was challenged by Mattingly and also overturned. Hernandez was safe at first with an RBI single.
Ellis then scored on a two-run single by Dee Gordon that chased Cahill, and Hernandez scored on a sacrifice fly by Adrian Gonzalez.
The inning ended with the Dodgers ahead, 8-2.
Mattingly reiterated his opinion that the language on Rule 7.13 needs to be "clarified" on how and where a catcher can set up to receive a throw and make a tag.
"From the beginning, replay has been a work in progress," he said. "It will continue to get better."
But, he said, it has accomplished its primary mission.
"It's definitely taken collisions out," he said. "It's given an advantage to the catcher on that. But the language is cloudy. It's doing what it's supposed to do as far as getting rid of collisions, but I think the language needs clarification. In Spring Training, the language was changing all the time, and it causes this. It's the interpretation of the guys in the [Replay Command Center] in New York. You get on exactly the same play, one calls it out, one calls it safe."
The Dodgers finally lost a review in the bottom of the fifth inning, when it was ruled that David Peralta did not come off the bag when his left left elevated after his slide into second base while shortstop Hanley Ramirez was tagging him. The call by second-base umpire Greg Gibson was allowed to stand after review, Peralta saved by a heel spike on his other foot.