CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

Kershaw hopes to break habit of throwing glove

Kershaw hopes to break habit of throwing glove

Kershaw hopes to break habit of throwing glove play video for Kershaw hopes to break habit of throwing glove

DENVER -- The closest the Rockies came to scoring Tuesday night was when Dodgers starting pitcher Clayton Kershaw threw his glove at Josh Rutledge's sacrifice bunt in the sixth inning.

Had Kershaw's glove hit the ball, rules call for the batter to be awarded three bases on an error and DJ LeMahieu, who led off the inning with a single, would have scored from first base.

More

The glove missed the ball, Kershaw picked up the ball and flipped it to first base to erase Rutledge.

"I don't know what I was thinking," said Kershaw, who won a Gold Glove in 2011. "I do it in batting practice when I'm shagging ground balls. I think I better stop doing that. It could have ruined things. It's kind of become a habit that I ought to break. It was dumb, just dumb."

Ken Gurnick is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Less
{}
{}