Dodgers Select RHP Chris Anderson with First-Round Pick of 2013 Draft

LOS ANGELES - The Los Angeles Dodgers today selected Jacksonville (FL) University right-handed pitcher Chris Anderson with their first-round pick (18th overall) in the 2013 First-Year Player Draft. Anderson was the first-ever first-round pick out of Jacksonville University.

Anderson, a 6-foot-4, 225-pounder, went 7-5 with a 2.49 ERA and three complete games in 14 starts this season for the Dolphins, earning second team All-Atlantic Sun Conference honors. The 20-year-old junior limited opposing hitters to a .231 batting average with a conference-best 101 strikeouts in 104.2 innings pitched.

"We're extremely excited to have selected a player of Chris' ability level," said Dodger Vice President, Amateur Scouting Logan White. "He's a big physical young man with three quality Major League pitches and a bulldog-competitive makeup to go with it."

Anderson was rated by Baseball America as the ninth-best right-handed pitcher in the 2013 draft.

As a senior team captain at Centennial High School in Lino Lakes, Minnesota, Anderson earned Mr. Baseball, Gatorade Player of the Year and Louisville Slugger Player of the Year honors for the state of Minnesota.

The Dodgers have selected a pitcher with their top pick in the draft in 10 of the last 11 years and their next selection is the 56th overall selection in the second round.

Below are the Dodgers' first-round selections since the start of the draft in 1965:

1965 John Wyatt (INF)

1966 Larry Hutton (RHP)

1967 Don Denbow (INF)

1968 Bobby Valentine (OF)

1969 Terry McDermott (C)

1970 Jim Haller (RHP)

1971 Rick Rhoden (RHP)

1972 John Harbin (INF)

1973 Ted Farr (C)

1974 Rick Sutcliffe (RHP)

1975 Mark Bradley (INF)

1976 Mike Scioscia (C)

1977 Bob Welch (RHP)

1978 None

1979 Steve Howe (LHP)

           Steve Perry (RHP)

1980 Ross Jones (INF)

1981 Dave Anderson (INF)

1982 Franklin Stubbs (1B)

1983 Erik Sonberg (LHP)

1984 Dennis Livingston (RHP)

1985 Chris Gwynn (OF)

1986 Mike White (OF)

1987 Dan Opperman (RHP)

1988 Bill Bene (RHP)

1989 Kiki Jones (RHP)

           Tom Goodwin (OF)

           Jamie McAndrew* (RHP)

1990 Ronnie Walden (LHP)

1991   None

1992 Ryan Luzinski* (C)

           Michael Moore* (OF)

1993 Darren Dreifort (RHP)

1994 Paul Konerko (C)

1995 David Yocum (LHP)

1996 Damian Rolls (INF)

1997 Glenn Davis (1B)

1998 Bubba Crosby (OF)

1999 Jason Repko* (INF)

2000 Ben Diggins (RHP)

2001 None

2002 James Loney (1B)

           Greg Miller* (LHP)

2003 Chad Billingsley (RHP)

2004 Scott Elbert (LHP)

           Blake DeWitt (3B)

           Justin Orenduff* (RHP)

2005 Luke Hochevar* (RHP)

2006 Clayton Kershaw (LHP)

           Bryan Morris* (RHP)

           Preston Mattingly* (INF)

2007 Chris Withrow (RHP)

           James Adkins* (LHP)

2008 Ethan Martin (RHP)

2009 Aaron Miller* (LHP)

2010 Zach Lee (RHP)

2011 Chris Reed (LHP)

2012   Corey Seager (SS)

           Jesmuel Valentin* (SS)

2013   Chris Anderson (RHP)

* First-round supplemental pick