Now Commenting On:

Kershaw finishes second in NL Cy Young race

Kershaw finishes second in NL Cy Young race

Kershaw finishes second in NL Cy Young race

LOS ANGELES -- Dodgers ace Clayton Kershaw, winner of last year's National League Cy Young Award, finished second in the voting announced on Wednesday by the Baseball Writers' Association of America for this year's award behind winner R.A. Dickey of the Mets.

Kershaw, who won 21 games in 2011, went 14-9 in '12.

"He was really the same guy as last year when he won the Cy Young," Dodgers manager Don Mattingly said. "He's as good as anybody in the game."

Kershaw was seeking to become the Dodgers' first back-to-back Cy Young honoree since Sandy Koufax in 1965-66, when only one award was presented for all of baseball. The 14 wins would have been the fewest for an NL Cy Young winning starting pitcher in a full season. Fernando Valenzuela won with 13 wins in the strike-shortened 1981 season.

Kershaw topped the Major Leagues this year with a 2.53 ERA and ranked among the NL leaders in strikeouts (229, second), opponents' batting average (.210, second), innings pitched (227 2/3, second), WHIP (1.02, first), pickoffs (11, first),quality starts (25, tied for second) and home runs allowed per nine innings (0.63, sixth).

Kershaw is the first pitcher to lead the NL in ERA in consecutive seasons since Randy Johnson (2001-02) and the first Dodger since Koufax led the league in ERA in five consecutive seasons from 1962-66. The last pitcher to lead the Majors in consecutive seasons was Pedro Martinez (2002-03). He surpassed 200 strikeouts (229) for the third consecutive season and won 12 consecutive home decisions, tying Ed Roebuck and Orel Hershiser for the Los Angeles record.

Despite missing a start in September with a right hip impingement, Kershaw had a 0.77 ERA in his last five starts and went 8-4 with a 2.10 ERA after the All-Star break. Kershaw was an All-Star for the second consecutive season, pitching a scoreless inning in the game, and was named winner of the Roberto Clemente Award.


Pitcher, Team 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Points
R.A. Dickey, Mets 27 5       209
Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers 2 11 10 1 6 96
Gio Gonzalez, Nationals 1 12 6 8 4 93
Johnny Cueto, Reds 1 4 10 10 2 75
Craig Kimbrel, Braves 1   5 5 9 41
Matt Cain, Giants     1 6 7 22
Kyle Lohse, Cardinals       2 2 6
Aroldis Chapman, Reds         1 1
Cole Hamels, Phillies         1 1

Ken Gurnick is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español