Many to take part in honoring Robinson

Many to take part in honoring Robinson

LOS ANGELES -- For the first time in Major League Baseball history, Commissioner Bud Selig has decreed that any uniformed personnel -- player, coach or manager -- can wear Jackie Robinson's famous No. 42 as the sport celebrates on Sunday the 60th anniversary of Robinson breaking the color barrier.

Robinson will be honored in each of the 15 ballparks where games will be played, with the core ceremony at Dodger Stadium beginning at 8 p.m. ET. Robinson played his first regular-season game for the Brooklyn Dodgers on April 15, 1947, at Brooklyn's Ebbets Field.

"I think it's great," Selig said this week about the demand from so many to wear Robinson's number. "Just their understanding of history and what that man did for so many people is so important. Believe me, it makes me very happy. I think the players should wear it who want to wear it."

Selig retired Robinson's number throughout baseball in 1997 as part of the 50th anniversary of Robinson's achievement. Closer Mariano Rivera, who came up to the Yankees in 1995, is the last active Major League player regularly wearing Robinson's number and was grandfathered in at the time.

The Commissioner was approached last week by Cincinnati's Ken Griffey Jr., who asked to wear Robinson's number on Sunday. Griffey was granted permission, and subsequently, Selig opened that invitation to at least one uniformed person on each team.

"I had a lot of respect for [Griffey] to begin with," Selig said. "But this is wonderful."

Here is a complete list of the teams and uniformed personnel who are participating:

Angels: Gary Matthews Jr.
Astros: All players
Athletics: Milton Bradley
Blue Jays: Vernon Wells, Frank Thomas, Royce Clayton and hitting coach Mickey Brantley
Braves: Andruw Jones
Brewers: All players
Cardinals: All players
Cubs: Derrek Lee, Cliff Floyd, Jacque Jones, Daryle Ward, hitting coach Gerald Perry, bullpen coach Lester Strode
Devil Rays: Carl Crawford
Diamondbacks: Orlando Hudson, Tony Clark, Chris Young, Scott Hairston and first-base coach Lee Tinsley
Dodgers: All players
Giants: Barry Bonds
Indians: Josh Barfield, Grady Sizemore and C.C. Sabathia
Mariners: Arthur Rhodes
Marlins: Dontrelle Willis
Mets: Manager Willie Randolph
Nationals: Dmitri Young
Orioles: Corey Patterson
Padres: Mike Cameron
Phillies: All players
Pirates: All players
Rangers: Jerry Hairston Jr., Kenny Lofton, manager Ron Washington, first-base coach Gary Pettis
Red Sox: Coco Crisp, David Ortiz, third-base coach DeMarlo Hale
Reds: Ken Griffey Jr.
Rockies: LaTroy Hawkins
Royals: Reggie Sanders, Emil Brown
Tigers: Gary Sheffield, Curtis Granderson, Marcus Thames, Craig Monroe, Ivan Rodriguez and hitting coach Lloyd McClendon
Twins: Torii Hunter, Rondell White and first base coach Jerry White
White Sox: Alex Cintron, Jermaine Dye, Jim Thome, first-base coach Harold Baines and third-base coach Razor Shines
Yankees: Mariano Rivera (uniform No. 42 grandfathered in 1997), Robinson Cano, Derek Jeter and manager Joe Torre

Barry M. Bloom is a national reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.